Beijing Police Open Investigation Into CreditEase Companies After Investment Repayments Stop

10 Min Read
Beijing Police Open Investigation Into CreditEase Companies After Investment Repayments Stop

Police action follows months of repayment uncertainty

Beijing police have opened a criminal investigation into companies associated with CreditEase and imposed criminal procedural measures on several suspects, including two people described as actual controllers of the businesses. The announcement from the Chaoyang branch of the Beijing Municipal Public Security Bureau on October 12 marks a major development after months of uncertainty over investment repayments.

Contents
  1. Police action follows months of repayment uncertainty
  2. What the police announcement confirms
  3. Why CreditEase says repayments failed
  4. From the May suspension to the October investigation
  5. The suspected offense is still not publicly specified
  6. Investor registration and repayment rumors
  7. A steep share decline does not measure investor recovery
  8. What remains unresolved
  9. Key Points

The police notice identifies the two controllers only by their surnames: Tang, a 53 year old man, and Zhao, a 51 year old woman. It does not give their full names, specify the suspected offenses or identify every company under investigation. It also does not disclose the particular measures applied to each suspect.

The announcement came one day after CreditEase reportedly published an apology to customers holding products described as similar to fixed income investments. In that letter, the group said it had decided on May 22, 2026, to stop repayments across those products as its inclusive finance and wealth management businesses contracted and delivered weak returns.

CreditEase attributed the resulting default to substantial losses across several businesses, low proceeds from selling assets and a lack of effective funding sources. Its stated intention had been to repay investors fairly through an orderly exit process. The October police announcement establishes that a criminal investigation is now underway, but it does not establish how much money can be recovered or when investors might receive it.

Those distinctions matter. A company's explanation for missed payments, a police investigation into suspected offenses and an eventual determination of criminal responsibility are separate issues. The announcement confirms investigative action, not a conviction or a completed repayment arrangement.

Advertisement

What the police announcement confirms

The Chaoyang police statement says the bureau recently opened an investigation into suspected illegal and criminal activity involving CreditEase related companies. Several criminal suspects, including the two actual controllers, have been subjected to measures under criminal procedure.

An actual controller is someone who exercises effective control over a company, which may differ from the person formally listed as its legal representative or its largest direct shareholder. The notice does not explain how Tang and Zhao exercised that control or which corporate entities each controlled.

The phrase criminal procedural measures does not, by itself, mean that every suspect has been formally arrested. It covers different measures used during a criminal case, and the announcement does not specify which were used here. Describing all those named as arrested would therefore go beyond the information released.

Earlier reporting discussed CreditEase founder Tang Ning and police inquiries concerning him. The October notice, however, names only a man surnamed Tang. His full identity should not be treated as confirmed by that notice alone. The same limitation applies to Zhao, whose full name and business role are not disclosed.

Why CreditEase says repayments failed

The apology was reportedly published on October 11 through the group's Ruicheng and Yiren Youxuan apps. It addressed customers of products described in Chinese as similar to fixed income investments, rather than identifying a single bond, deposit account or investment fund.

That description matters because an investment presented as producing relatively predictable returns is not necessarily a bank deposit or a guaranteed obligation. The precise rights of each customer depend on the relevant contract, the entity responsible for payment and the assets supporting the product. Those details are not set out in the police announcement.

CreditEase's explanation links the payment failure to three financial pressures: shrinking business activity, large losses and disappointing proceeds from asset disposals. It also says the group lacked effective sources of new funding. Together, those conditions left it unable to meet the payment obligations it had stopped servicing in May.

The letter acknowledges an actual default, rather than merely a delay in administration. Yet it does not provide a quantified balance sheet, a verified valuation of recoverable assets or the total amount owed to investors. The reported possibility of a large repayment shortfall cannot be converted into a confirmed insolvency figure without those numbers.

Advertisement

From the May suspension to the October investigation

The reported chronology shows that the payment suspension preceded the public confirmation of a criminal investigation by several months. It also separates earlier police information gathering from the later announcement that a case had formally been opened.

  • May 22, 2026: CreditEase announced an orderly exit from the affected investment products, suspending new subscriptions and payments of principal and interest as they fell due.
  • Early July: The reported four to six week period for producing an exit plan had elapsed. The July account calculated the latest promised date as July 3.
  • July 13: A screenshot of a case transfer notice reportedly circulated among investors, referring to suspected illegal acceptance of public deposits involving Beijing Yiren Youxuan Technology Information Services Co., Ltd.
  • July 15: A dedicated CreditEase reception window reportedly opened at Chaoyang's economic crime investigation unit to collect investor reports and documents.
  • October 11: CreditEase reportedly published its customer apology through the Ruicheng and Yiren Youxuan apps.
  • October 12: Chaoyang police announced the criminal investigation and measures against several suspects.

The May and July events are expressly dated 2026 in the reporting, while the brief October police notice reproduced in the accounts gives the month and day without a year. The surrounding financial reporting places the developments in a 2026 chronology.

The July account described a stage of registration and verification, with the decision on formal investigation still dependent on a specialist team's findings. The October announcement confirms a later procedural step. Those descriptions concern different points in time and should not be presented as competing accounts of the same status.

The suspected offense is still not publicly specified

The July case transfer screenshot reportedly concerned suspected illegal acceptance of public deposits by Beijing Yiren Youxuan Technology Information Services Co., Ltd. That allegation is more specific than the wording in the October police announcement, which refers broadly to suspected illegal and criminal activity.

Illegal acceptance of public deposits generally concerns raising money from the public in breach of the rules governing such activity. It is distinct from fundraising fraud, which involves additional questions about fraudulent conduct and intent to unlawfully possess funds. The October notice does not say that either offense has been established.

The reported transfer document is also not equivalent to a court judgment. A transfer concerns which authority should handle a matter; opening an investigation permits police to investigate suspected criminal conduct. Neither step settles the evidence, the eventual charges or the liability of each individual.

The identity of the company named in the July account should therefore remain separate from the broader reference to CreditEase related companies in October. The police announcement does not provide a complete list of entities or explain whether every affected investment product falls within the investigation.

Advertisement

Investor registration and repayment rumors

The July account described a dedicated reception process requiring investors to attend personally and submit six types of material: a written explanation, investment contracts, a copy of the bank card used to provide funds, an identity document copy, bank transfer records and a registration form completed at the reception point.

It also said that the Chaoyang window did not accept submissions by post from investors outside Beijing, while an economic crime investigation unit in Shanghai's Huangpu district could receive documents. These were reported arrangements in July. The October announcement does not confirm that the same locations, attendance requirements or submission rules remain in force.

Contracts and transfer records can help investigators establish who invested, which company received the money and how much was paid or returned. Registration itself does not establish a guaranteed recovery amount, a priority in repayment or a date for distribution. No such commitments appear in the October notice.

Several proposed repayment arrangements reportedly circulated in investor groups during July. They included discounts on claims, repayment over three to five years and different treatment of customers according to their investment history. None should be treated as an approved settlement solely because it appeared in a group message.

One disputed approach would calculate repayable principal by subtracting all previously received returns from the original amount invested. A later circulating version reportedly limited some deductions to 15% for long standing customers who repeatedly reinvested. These differences could materially affect individual claims, but the accounts do not establish a final, authenticated formula that applies to all investors.

A steep share decline does not measure investor recovery

The financial strain was accompanied by a sharp fall in shares of Yiren Digital, the United States listed company trading under the ticker YRD. Its share price reportedly dropped from about $3.70 near the start of 2026 to about $1, a decline of approximately 73%.

The quoted prices support that calculation: a fall of $2.70 from a $3.70 starting point is about 73%. The remaining price is roughly 27% of the earlier level. The account does not provide precise trading dates for both prices, so the comparison is approximate.

That market decline is a different measure from losses on the affected investment products. A listed share price reflects what buyers and sellers will pay for equity in that issuer. It does not establish the value of assets available to repay customers of another entity or determine their legal claims.

The police notice does not identify Yiren Digital as a company under investigation. Its share performance should not be used to infer that it faces the same allegations, or that its shareholders and CreditEase product customers hold equivalent claims.

Advertisement

What remains unresolved

The largest unanswered financial questions are the total amount owed, the number of affected investors, the assets that can be recovered and the share of customer claims those assets could cover. CreditEase's reported explanation identifies serious funding problems, but it does not supply the figures needed to calculate a recovery rate.

Some commentary accompanying the July developments predicted recoveries below half of invested funds and a wait of at least two years. The October police announcement does not support those specific estimates. They should not be presented as established outcomes for this case.

No hearing date, investor registration deadline or repayment distribution date is given in the announcement. It also provides no completed audit, final repayment plan or decision on criminal liability. The confirmed development is the investigation and the measures imposed on suspects; the financial outcome for customers remains undetermined.

Key Points

  • Chaoyang police announced an investigation into CreditEase related companies on October 12.
  • Several suspects face criminal procedural measures, including a man surnamed Tang, 53, and a woman surnamed Zhao, 51.
  • CreditEase reportedly stopped payments on the affected investment products on May 22, 2026, and acknowledged default in an October 11 apology.
  • The group cited business losses, low asset disposal proceeds and insufficient funding.
  • A July account described investor registration and a transferred case involving suspected illegal acceptance of public deposits.
  • The October notice does not specify offenses, total investor losses, recovery rates or repayment dates.
Share This Article

You May also Like